Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

How can we change our child’s heart (not just their behavior)?

Posted by truthtalklive on September 22, 2008

On today’s show Stu interviews Pastor and author Tedd Tripp with Grace Fellowship Church. Mr. Tripp is the author of “Shepherding a Child’s Heart.” For more information please visit  http://www.gfchazleton.org/index.html. As always thanks for listening and we look foward to your comments!!!

AFTER THE SHOW CHECK OUT THE PODCAST AT www.wtru.com

Add to Technorati Favorites

 

15 Responses to “How can we change our child’s heart (not just their behavior)?”

  1. Stanley said

    You have to love them completely and let them make their own decisions. Don’t rule with an iron fist, and let ’em learn from their mistakes. Let them become their own person, as opposed to a carbon-copy of you because they’ll resent you if you do.

  2. Mike S. said

    Sounds like a voice of experience. Do you resemble that remark?

  3. Stanley said

    That is how I came out like I did. I turned out a lot like my dad, but because I love and respect him, not because he told me what and how to think.

  4. Mike S. said

    I question whether or not WE can change our childs heart. Only God can. We are certainly called to raise the child in a certain way that honors God which of course includes loving them completely and allowing them to make their own decisions, however, it is important for the child to learn early on that their decisions have varying consequences that are often negative. And if we start out allowing them to experience the consequences when they are not so drastic, it allows them to learn and grow on their own to make good decisions.

  5. Stanley said

    Jury is still out on that one. I run into a lot of guys who seem to just be completely past saving. Don’t know if anything but religion can save them.

  6. Mike S said

    Say whaaaaaat?? Stanley, what are you replying to? You lost me dude.

  7. Stanley said

    If you can change a persons heart after they’ve grown older. Maybe you can when you get older, but people my age, it doesn’t seem possible.

  8. wes said

    Start while they are young. Be consistent in all things including discipline, and above all set the example.

  9. Stanley said

    Tell them to read “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”

  10. wes said

    Teach them to read the Bible.

  11. Maz said

    ”Train up a child in the way He should go and when he is old he shall not depart from it.” Prov: 22 v 6.
    I sent my children to Sunday school, they learnt the Bible but they had a lot of fun doing so too. I taught them how to pray, I tried to teach them how to live and behave, but dragging themto Church is a no-no. I have met people that were ‘made to go’ and it can be a ‘put off’ for them. Encouragement yes, but letting them ‘do their own thing’ is also a no-no, as the Bible teaches, we must do our best to train them and teach them the right path. One of my sons has continued in his faith in Christ, was baptised ‘full emersion’ when he was 15. My other son left the Church when he was 13, he went his own way, but I continued to pray for him and give him a word in due season when necessary. He believes in God still but doesn’t feel he has to go to Church. He needs to come back to the Lord.
    Love is the best tool to use, but a ‘rod of iron’ is sometimes needed. ”Spare the rod and spoil the child”. Ofcourse I am NOT advercating child abuse before anyone accuses me of hitting a child with an iron rod! The iron rod is figurative.

  12. Stanley said

    Hitchhiker’s Guide is much funnier, and the philosophy is better. Douglas Adams is my hero.

  13. F. L. A. said

    Yes, a cute story.
    Has anyone ever read “Letters from the Earth” by Mark Twain?

  14. Stanley said

    I read a paper on it. Its interesting.

  15. wes said

    Post #13. No I missed that one.

Leave a Reply

 
