Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

Should one’s Faith be an “asset or a liability” in a political race?

Posted by truthtalklive on September 10, 2008

On todays show Stu discusses Sara Palin, John McCain’s pick for VP.  We ask you the question above “Should ones Faith be an asset or a liability in a political race”?

For more information, please check out these related articles: http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/9/10/23059/8106/837/593093, http://gov.state.ak.us/, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E22FsmI5rQ, and http://voices.washingtonpost.com/thefix/2008/08/who_is_sarah_palin.html?nav=rss_blog.

AFTER THE SHOW CHECK OUT THE PODCAST AT www.wtru.com

Her Speech on Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E22FsmI5rQ

Add to Technorati Favorites

38 Responses to “Should one’s Faith be an “asset or a liability” in a political race?”

  1. Jennifer said

    I don’t think Sarah should hide her faith. I applaud her for not being ashamed to proclaim her faith. I don’t feel she’s using her faith to get into office. I do feel that George W. Bush did, and many christians fell for it. His adminstration is one of the most corrupt I have ever seen. I thank God I didn’t fall for his pretend Christian act. That is one of the reasons the Republicans have lost quite a few of the christian votes.

  2. Stanley said

    Why is this a question? You can’t get elected UNLESS you’re a “person of faith.”

  3. H W M said

    Voters do want to vote for a “person of faith.” The down side, a person of faith will face hordes of investigators looking under every rock to find anything that might be used to smear them.

  4. abc's said

    I don’t think that one’s faith “should” be an asset or a liability in a political race, but it is.

    Personally, I don’t care what a candidates personal religious beliefs are, but I do want to know if those beliefs are going to have an impact on the way they hold office.

    For instance, Sarah Palin does not accept evolution and she believes that it is ok to teach creationism in public schools. She also believes in abstinence only sex education. These beliefs are based on solely on her religious convictions.

    I’m glad that she is honest about her beliefs, and it will affect my vote.

  5. Brad said

    I don’t think that one’s faith “should” be an asset or a liability in a political race, but it is.

    Sure you do – look at your comments below.

    Personally, I don’t care what a candidates personal religious beliefs are, but I do want to know if those beliefs are going to have an impact on the way they hold office.

    Meaning that their beliefs would be a liability for them (as it relates to your vote), depending on which way they lean. Which means that when you say “their faith shouldn’t be an asset or a liability”, you’ve just contradicted yourself.

    For instance, Sarah Palin does not accept evolution and she believes that it is ok to teach creationism in public schools. She also believes in abstinence only sex education. These beliefs are based on solely on her religious convictions.

    Yes, I’m sure they are. For me, that’s an asset. I also do not accept evolution. I also believe it’s OK (and preferable) to teach creationism in public schools. I also believe in abstinence-only sex ed. I also share her beliefs on abortion. My beliefs are also based on my religious convictions. So, for me, her beliefs are an asset, as they relate to my vote. Obama’s are a liability, as it relates to my vote.

    I’m glad that she is honest about her beliefs, and it will affect my vote.

    If you don’t “think” that one’s beliefs should be an asset or a liability, then don’t consider them. Problem is, you ARE considering them, which proves that you REALLY DON’T think they shouldn’t be an asset or a liability. Amazing.

  6. Stanley said

    Negatively right? I like the fact she is honest too, but it don’t quite make up for her being crazy!

  7. abc's said

    Brad

    Maybe I could have been more clear. I do think that religious beliefs are an asset or a liability to a campaign.

    Obama claims to be a Christian. Maybe he is, maybe he isn’t. However, he isn’t politically closed minded and unwilling to change his views on things like education, abortion and stem cell research because of his religious beliefs.

    Sarah Palin is unwilling to change her views.

    I see that as a fault, and not an asset.

    If a person says they are Catholic, or Muslim, or Hindu or Atheist and they run for office, that shouldn’t have any bearing on the voting process, but I agree that it does and will.

    If their religious ideology is going to negatively affect the way they hold office, then that will affect my vote.

    “Meaning that their beliefs would be a liability for them (as it relates to your vote), depending on which way they lean. Which means that when you say “their faith shouldn’t be an asset or a liability”, you’ve just contradicted yourself.”

    People contradict themselves all the time, but I used the word “shouldn’t” for a reason.

  8. abc's said

    Stanley

    Yes, negatively. But there are many other reasons that I won’t be voting for her also. She’s diametrically opposed to the few strong beliefs that I do have in regards to education, the environment, civil rights etc.

  9. Brad said

    ABC,

    You didn’t explain anything. You really just backed up what I said!

    YOU hold that her beliefs would “negatively affect” how she holds office – I hold that her beliefs would positively affect it. You will vote based on your convictions (thereby making her faith a liability for you), and I will do the same (thereby making her faith an asset for me).

    What are you really saying, ABC? B/c you’re going in circles.

    Are you saying you DON’T think one’s religious beliefs should play a part? If you say that, you completely disregard that when you say you won’t vote for her b/c of what she believes.

    Are you saying you DO think one’s religious beliefs should play a part? If you say that, then I agree with you, although we would disagree as to how her beliefs will affect our respective votes (you negatively, me positively).

  10. abc's said

    Brad

    I’m not voting for McCain/Palin because of their voting records and the issues that they claim to be in favor of and against.

    I don’t care what their religious affiliations are.

  11. Brad said

    I’m not voting for McCain/Palin because of their voting records and the issues that they claim to be in favor of and against.

    I don’t care what their religious affiliations are.

    Really? Here’s your earlier quote:

    If their religious ideology is going to negatively affect the way they hold office, then that will affect my vote.

    Can you reconcile those 2 statements for me?

  12. F. L. A. said

    Just in case you do not realize it yet Abc’s, Brad is a slightly more articulate version of Maz.

  13. Stanley said

    You can’t be anything but Christian and get elected in America. Also, you can’t be competent.

  14. abc's said

    Brad,

    I don’t care what their religious affiliations are.

    UNTIL

    If their religious ideology is going to negatively affect the way they hold office, then that will affect my vote.

  15. Stanley said

    Like if they were fundamentalist anything. Especially Muslim.

  16. abc's said

    F.L.A.

    If you say so.

    Stanley

    You’re right, but it is only important to claim to be Christian. You don’t necessarily have to be one (whatever that may mean). I don’t think the term “Christian” is descriptive of anything.

  17. F. L. A. said

    Abc’s you and Brad have a different idea on what it means for someone’s personal religious ideology to “negatively effect the way they hold office”, as you can get a glimpse of with your differing views on the teaching of sex education and evolution/creationism.

  18. Stanley said

    Well, depends on your definition of a Christian. If its crazy conservative psycho, then there are a lot of non-Christians posing as Christians. If its sincere, non-literal, humanitarians that follows Christs teachings but realizes their social contexts, then there are even more non-Christians posing as Christians.

    Or maybe both are, then everyone is claiming to be Christian, which seems to be the case nowadays.

  19. abc's said

    Stanley: 18

    We are in total agreement there.

  20. Mike S. said

    18 And sadly… I agree as well. A lot of empty talk out there!! Reminds me of a funny story told by and Appalachian Folk Singer, Mike Cross…

    There was a very poor man who walked by a local bakery and was enamored by the smell of the pasties coming from inside the bakery. Because he could not afford to buy anything, he began to just hang out at the front door and just enjoy the smells everyday, but he never bought any of the delicacies. The Baker began to get irritated about that and approached the poor man telling him he was going to have to begin paying for the privilege of standing in front of his shop and smelling all the good smells, or else he was going to have to report his loitering to the police.

    The man left saddened, but determined. He went home and dug up all of the loose change he could find and put the change in a coffee can. The next day he returned to the sidewalk with his can and began enjoying those good smells again. The Baker saw him and stormed out the door saying “OK, I warned you, that will be two dollars!” The poor man started shaking his can at the banker. Puzzled and a little irritated the banker said, “What in the world are you doing?” The poor man replied, “I’m paying you for the smell of your pastries, with the sound of my money!”

  21. Tripp said

    Here’s one that could possibly change some opinions:

  22. Mike S. said

    Maybe that’s how we’ll pay for Obama’s Trillion Dollar tax increases?

  23. abc's said

    Either candidate will raise taxes and spend money if they are elected. The decisive issue is where the money will come from and how it will be spent.

  24. F. L. A. said

    I have come to the conclusion that politics are too serious a matter to be left to the politicians.

    “Politics I supposed to be the worlds second-oldest profession.I have come to realize that it bears a very close resemblance to the first.”-Ronald Reagan

  25. abc's said

    F.L.A.

    You have a point there. I think that’s the problem that democracy was intended to solve. We have a say in who gets elected to office.
    It’s just too bad that we have a bipartisan system. I can go to the grocery store and have my choice of 100 different brands of cereal, but when it comes to the chief of staff we get a choice between 2 people.

    On a side note, the world’s first profession was probably something more along the lines of hunting and foraging.

  26. F. L. A. said

    Yes, humanity would always like to vote for the best person, but he/she never seems to be a candidate, eh?[Huge sharp-toothed grin]
    Your comment brings to mind the choosing of the winner for the Miss America contest.
    What is it, 50 women to choose from? And then for the leader of this nation Americans get a couple of suspicious men.Odd.

  27. Brad said

    I don’t care what their religious affiliations are.

    UNTIL

    If their religious ideology is going to negatively affect the way they hold office, then that will affect my vote.

    I take it you STILL don’t see your contradiction. You’d be better off saying “I do care what their religious beliefs are, b/c it affects the way they hold office, and I vote accordingly.” That probably better fits what you mean. To say you don’t care, but qualify it to then say you do care under certain conditions (which really means you do care under ALL conditions, b/c when you analyze their views to be like yours and vote accordingly, you are saying you agree), makes it look like you have no idea what you’re saying!

  28. Brad said

    Your comment brings to mind the choosing of the winner for the Miss America contest.
    What is it, 50 women to choose from? And then for the leader of this nation Americans get a couple of suspicious men.Odd.

    Gee, doesn’t the Miss America contest START with 50, and then get systematically narrowed down (to 10, to 5, then to 1, or however it works) via voting from judges?

    The election doesn’t START with 2, it is open to theoretically all eligible Americans (99.99999999% of which choose not to run), and then gets systematically narrowed down via voting from the people?

    Heck, at least with the election, the people get to vote, as opposed to just a few judges.

  29. F. L. A. said

    How come we don’t hear from you more often Brad?
    Too busy with the children these days?

  30. Brad said

    Kids, job, church, picking and choosing my topics.

    It’s a lot of stuff. Not everything’s worth responding to…

  31. abc's said

    Brad

    I agree with what you’re saying, but people’s religious views don’t always interfere with the way they hold office.

    I don’t dislike Palin because of her religious views. I dislike her because of her stance on the issues.

    I agree that her beliefs inform her actions, but I view belief and actions as 2 different and separate things. But, if you are fundamentalist Christian as F.L.A. implies, I can understand why you don’t see the separation between faith and action.

    I also agree that most topics here aren’t worth discussing and responding to.

  32. Mike S. said

    Faith/Belief is never separated from action. You make choices regarding your actions based upon whom is the ultimate authority in your life. For most people it’s themselves. For few who travel the narrow path, it’s the Holy Trinity.

  33. Barney said

    So, do we want the next in line for the CEO of our secular government taking action based on the belief that all the scientists in the world are wrong?

  34. Mike S. said

    “All the scientists in the world”… Very funny Barney.

  35. Kasha said

    If your faith isn’t a liability, you’re probably not doing it right. Look what happened to Jesus, and he was the most faithful of us all. There are still a lot of pharisees waiting to crucify anyone who act too much like Jesus.

  36. Barney said

    Right now the Values Voter Summit is on CSPAN. I wonder how they feel about being ignored by the McCheater/Palin camp? I guess Johnny boy figures they’ve already got the fundie vote wrapped up; no need to air out the Gov’s goofy beliefs any further. They don’t want to alienate the moderates.

    So, McCheater thinks faith is an asset, but only through early November. Once again, Johnny does whats best for Johnny.

    How do you like him, now?

  37. Stanley said

    I wonder how much McCain sold his soul for?

    Hes such a flip flopper. I thought republicans didn’t like that sort of thing.

  38. […] STU […]

Leave a Reply

 
