Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

Should Race Impact my Vote?

Posted by truthtalklive on August 12, 2008

On today’s show Stu interviews Kimberly Cash Tate http://www.kimberlycashtate.com/.  She is the author of a book called “More Christian Than African-American”.   As always thanks for listening. After the show check out the podcast at:

                       www.wtru.com

THE BOOK

THE BOOK

34 Responses to “Should Race Impact my Vote?”

  1. Tiffany said

    I am appreciating this discussion so much. I have been torn about this election b/c of wanting to support an African American candidate that actually has the ability to win the election but recognizing that some of his ideals are not in line with what I see as God’s truth and desire for this nation. It is a hard place to be. I so want Senator Obama to be awakened to the truth of the Word of God which he claims to believe and to allow the Spirit to lead him. I also want the saints of God who are only seeing the color line to allow themselves also to be led by the Spirit of God. I wonder where Senator McCain’s faith lies and what he really plans to do if elected. Maybe what we as christian’s really need to do is get some witnessing teams in Washington, DC. That is a mission field that seems to be wide open.

  2. John said

    The “the saints of God who are only seeing the color line”?
    Hmmmm.
    Should race impact my vote? No. Why in the world would it?

  3. Lisa said

    For me, it as simple as this; you either believe it is OK to kill babies or you don’t, and that speaks volumes about your real character. Don’t give me any bologna about choice. The choice you have is to abstain or, at the very least, use birth control. Nor do I want to hear the rape, incest, endangerment to life of the mother argument, as we all know that is not what pro-choice is about. Funny how when people talk about choice what they are really talking about is the choice to use MURDER as a form of birth control. And to those who say a man has no right to tell a woman what to do with her body, hear me clear. He has a God given right and responsibility to protect his child. I honestly can’t believe a sincere child of God would vote for any candidate who is pro-choice.

    And if you believe one person can’t make a difference, ask Norma McCorvey her opinion.

  4. Tripp said

    Here’s one for ya:

  5. Maz said

    John: I agree with you! 😉 I thought America was the ”Land of the free.” Doesn’t that include all colours?

  6. Fred said

    I find this an interesting topic of conversation. As a born-again African-American male myself I too, like others, am very torn about this. I will be the first to admit that the idea of having an African-American president excites me but I realize as a christian that before I’m a male, african-american, etc I am a MAN OF GOD first and the principles of the Word of God affect me the decisions I make and that includes voting. I agree that Abortion is a despicable thing and it’s by no doubt a sin. I do, however, am troubled that it seems to be the ONLY platform that Republicans make an issue out of when courting Evangelical born again christians. They equate it that if you dont vote for that particular party, because of its stance on that issue and gays for that matter, that you’re less of a christian. That’s like saying I’m a christian who doesn’t STEAL and make a BIG DEAL out of Stealing YET I’m lying, murdering, committing adultery, etc. I want to reiterate that I am very ANTI-ABORTION but what has President Bush really done in the 8 years he’s been in office to combat the number of abortions in this country? I am glad that he did away with partial-birth abortion. The last time I checked women are STILL having abortions. I do agree with the guest 1000% that abortions will have ramifications in this country and God isn’t pleased least. But let’s examine the word life. Is that party and McCain for that matter really for life? I am pro-life but are we pro-life when we continue to support a president that is reponsible for thousands of our troops coming home in body bags? Is it life when thousands of INNOCENT civilians are dying in Iraq because of a senseless war? Is it life whe the Republican party continues to cut funding for the needy (not those looking for hand outs)? Is it life when that particular party cuts prescription drug programs that provides LIFE SAVING medicine to those in need in THIS country? Let’s really look at ALL issues besides abortion. I have not heard Mr. McCain talk about faith on the lease. I have, however, heard Obama say that he believes in Jesus Christ. I do know for him to be a family man and it radiates with his wife and children versus Mr. McCain DIVORCING his wife for some young trophy wife? What kind of family values that does instill in our youth? Abortion is wrong but not the only issue people of God need to look at. It doesn’t supercede any other sin. It’s among MANY sins.

  7. bookert said

    Fred, you’re brilliant. Liz, did you read Fred? The TRUTH is, both candidates are pro-choice. Oh, McCain quotes the party talking points – least of these, least of these – but abortion is just not that big of a deal to him. btw, it’s easy to vote along “right to life” lines when you know the consequences won’t amount to much.

    Re partial birth – do your homework, Liz. You need to crack the journals, consult the experts, the docs in the trenches, crunch some numbers, and think for yourself. Don’t just listen to a.m. radio.

    Then ask yourself this – do you actually think women will stop having abortions if abortion is made illegal? Do you know what happened with Raegan and Mexico? Do you think the daughters of republican fat cats will carry their “accidents” to term? Get real.

    Look at it this way – folks like to drink and folks like to drive, so you’re always going to have drunk driving… UNLESS YOU OVERHAUL THE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM! Prohibition won’t do it. And overhauling the transportation system won’t make people more moral, but it WILL render their immorality less severe. I bet you could impose the death penalty for drunk drivers (hope I’m not giving you inquisitors any ideas) and we’d STILL have drunk drivers on the road.

    Folks like sex, too. Sure do. And folks like child rearing, but only on their own terms. I bet you could impose the death penalty for abortion and STILL, young women would engage in extra-marital sex. You can’t change “fallen” human behavior! Just look at George. He’s the most “religious” president we’ve had since Carter, and he’s responsible for the deaths of thousands of innocents. Our only hope is science – the perfection of device/pill/whatever, that prevents conception.

    I’m a white guy, and I supported Hillary. The reason – she was easily the meanest candidate to step forward. Once in office, I saw her evening up the score fast. I saw the republican rolly-pollies taking lonnnnnng European vacations. I saw her completely dismantling the republican party. I think Obama is fundamentally too cool for that. Obama is a throwback to traditional American values. Despite his color – and you locals don’t tell me you’re not thinking color, because you are – he’s as Ozzie and Harriet as you can get. He’s Sheriff Taylor. He’s a decent man who takes the moral high ground. He’s a better man than me. And he’s a better man than you hate-filled listeners who call in, hiding behind your abortion stance. His wife is sharp as a tack. McCain’s wife is a cute blond. I don’t know if McCain’s a better man than me. I actually respect McCain, but four more yrs of republican rule would probably finish off what’s left of the economy. But George Bush – oil worshipping George Bush who borrowed cash from the Chinese to fight his vanity war in Iraq – is definitely not a better man than me. I could grab a hundred guys off the street who could’ve done a better job than George. And who put that guy in office? You did. And the republican machine – hiding behind its abortion stance (check the yellow pages under A – after 8 long yrs abortion is going strong ). Has it ever occurred to you, Liz, that the republicans NEED abortion every four years, to win your vote?

  8. Lisa said

    The name is Lisa.

    Why has assumption been made that I am republican and voting for McCain or that I am so ignorant that I get my education from AM radio? I simply deplore abortion and would not support any political candidate who does not feel the same. Am I supposed to change my mind because it will always be available somewhere in some form? Am I supposed to change my mind because other deplorable behaviors go unpunished by the justice system? Abortion is where I have chosen to draw the line, again, because I believe whether or not a person believes it is OK to murder babies tells me what I need to know about their values, and frankly, their faith.

  9. Maz said

    Lisa: Well said. I am not American, and so I don’t have to choose…thank goodness! But abortion is one of the worst ‘lgal’ crimes there is in this world. Killing babies by the millions IS important. Have we got so use to it in society that it’s just another ‘issue’, God help us to see what abortion really is. Murder of innocent children not yet able to speak for themselves let alone breathe their first breath. The only…..the ONLY reason to consider abortion is when the mothers life is at risk and everything has been done to try and save both.
    Too many abortions are for social reasons…that’s just unacceptable to God and to many, if not all who follow Him.

  10. Maz said

    That should have been ” ‘legal’ crimes..”. Sorry, forgot to check my spelling!

  11. John said

    Maz, post#5: It should, however there are still places that, as far as the locals are concerned, feel that the Civil War was never lost[yet!] by the south, and Martin Luther King Junior Day is bitterly called “Dead N****r Day” or “James Earl Ray Day”.
    I have a close lady friend[almost like a girlfriend, but she doesn’t want it as bad as I do.]named Alexandria that is Jamaican by descent, and if we were seen together walking down the road, we would be run down as vermin[Well, me anyway, as a “race traitor”.She might be kept for “fun and games”.].All the worse for a “white” woman with a black man.
    Pathetic, eh? I see many of these people in churches.Oh, such irony!

  12. Lisa said

    John: The driver’s motivation would have nothing to do with Alexandria’s descent…

  13. Maz said

    John: Yes, I guess the ‘white-black’ issue is still alive and well in good ol’ USA.
    And sad to say that kind of attitude is even in some Churches…thankfully not in mine! We have black, white and an Indian family have joined us also. It’s great to get together as a global family. I like that Coca Cola advert…”I like to see the world for one, all standing hand in hand…” la la la la…

    Lisa: You are presuming…

  14. F. L. A. said

    Hello Lisa. I was wondering, what do you think that the driver’s motivation would be?

  15. David said

    If the Bible is correct and our life is like a vapor, then skin color is merely a temporary set of clothes. Your eternal citizenship is far more significant. Decisions we make in this life time should be based on that truth.

    I am white male. If JC Watts were running for president and being opposed by white candidates I would be not only planning to vote for him, but would join his campaign to get him elected.

    To make a selection based solely on the color of the candidate’s skin (for or against), ignoring what he/she stands for, is the height of foolishness.

  16. Maz said

    Did you know that the colour of our skin is only through how much melonin we have in it.
    The darker you are the more melonin you have in your skin. So you see, we are all related, and if any Christian thinks blacks are any different from whites they need to realise we all came from one man and woman (unless of course you believe as some do that we evolved, which is not scriptural). Adam and Eve had were most probably tanned brown in colour, but with the separating of the people at the Tower of Babel, some people groups got darker while others had lighter skinned children. We are not of different races, we are all of the same race….the Human Race.

  17. David said

    Amen Maz

  18. John said

    Maz, it’s more than just a black and white issue.
    They have a dislike and distrust for anyone who is not or doesn’t look or act like a “white”, “southern”, “heterosexual”, “Christian”. I have seen some of them flying the American flag in their yards upside down, with the Rebel flag positioned over it.
    Fortunately many of these types spend much time sitting around drinking and talking trash instead of actively going out and committing crimes against humanity. Their teenagers are far worse.

  19. ADB said

    There is much unlearning to be done before we can all sing “Kum Ba Yah” together. One of my parishioners (I’m the the American South) is 93 years old and when I visit him he routinely uses the “N word” when referring to African Americans. He uses it just as casually as one would say any other word. He’s from a different era I suppose. I sort of bite my tongue, but at that age he’s not going to change just to suit me. For Maz’s benefit who doesn’t live here in the good ole’ US of A, racism is not just a southern thing. Some of the most destructive and costly race riots and acts of racial violence have come from the supposedly “enlightened” Northeast and West Coast.

    Best Wishes

  20. Maz said

    John: I recognise that there are other issues involved, but race and colour is a large part of the problem.

  21. Max said

    ADB: It’s actually a global problem….look at old Yugoslavia…..and the atrocities done in Europe. There will always exist prejudice of some kind or other about a persons race, colour ethnicity,or religion, look at what the Northern American Indians have suffered. America was their land to start with.

  22. F. L. A. said

    Perhaps “they” are compensating for some kind of deep inferiority/insecurity complex. Some can only feel important by dragging others down and focusing on differences and percieved “flaws”, imaginary or otherwise.

  23. F. L. A. said

    Yes Max, it was their land. Do you know that they were not even considered citizens of their own country untill the 1920’s?!

  24. Maz said

    F.L.A: Good morning! You are up early….it’s 10.55 here in England.
    I feel an empathy for the North American Indians, infact anyone who has been trodden down and walked all over by establishments and governments. It was a terrible thing to happen.

  25. ADB said

    Maz,
    You’re exactly right about Yugoslavia. It’s tragic the destruction that happened in the beautiful city of Sarajevo, which hosted the Winter Olympics back in ’84 I think. That region has both ethnic and religious problems, a truly unholy combination.

    Best Wishes

  26. Max said

    ADB: It was hard to take in because it was so close to home so to speak. The evil that man can do to man is beyond comprehension sometimes.

  27. Maz said

    Max is Maz!

  28. F. L. A. said

    Maz, I was not getting up, I was heading back to John’s house to rest up for a bit.I wander the swamplands all night and usually come in while John is going out.

  29. Maz said

    F.L.A: You wander the swamplands all night and then you question my perseption of you when you state on the ”India” site ”What an odd woman you must believe that I am.”
    Actually, yes.
    But each to his/her own I guess. 😉

  30. F. L. A. said

    That was an observation Maz, not a question.I was trying to put myself within your shoes so to speak, adding up all the little snippets of personal information and experiences about myself that I’ve posted over all these many months, and then applying all of that into the idea that I am a woman.
    A very odd and interesting woman it would indeed make, do you not think?

  31. Maz said

    F.L.A: You are certainly the most odd and interesting woman I have ever come across.

  32. F. L. A. said

    Uhhyup. Sure seems that way.

  33. lndyNC said

    I’ve been wondering, why do black folks have to keep race in the discussion all the time? Why the need for a book on it?

    No white folks have been asked for all of these centuries, “are you voting for this or that guy because he’s white?”

    ‘Tis the world we live in i suppose.

  34. Maz said

    I guess it’s beccause the darker colours of this world through history seem to have been down trodden by the lighter folks. Look at what happened to the Aborigines of Australia. It is a global issue aswell.

Leave a Reply

 
