Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

Reaching incarcerated youth with the Gospel

Posted by truthtalklive on February 7, 2008

Today Big Stu is in the truth booth and he is interviewing Mark McMasters with www.turntochrist.net discussing the topic of reaching incarcerated youth with the Gospel.

AddThis Button 

3 Responses to “Reaching incarcerated youth with the Gospel”

  1. Anonymous said

    On 2/6/08 I was driving over to the St. Augustine juvenile detention center for the first time for a volunteer dinner when I heard this show. I’m currently “being processed to volunteer”. It is a little bit of a process to go through. When you see the hunger for love and attention in these kids eyes, it is worth what ever it takes. I believe the church is missing out on a major part of Matt. 28:18-20. Stu Sr. hit the nail on the head when he said “more people are concerned about pets than these hurting desperate kids”. I believe Jesus said something about this in Matt.25:34-40? We wonder why the church is so anemic and powerless? My suggestion would be for one “father figure” from each church to be involved as a representative to the monumental task of reaching out to our next generation. These kids are begging for answers, are we the church responding?

  2. Jack said

    This subject has been on my mind lately. I have a son by my first wife that lives in Florida, I live in Tennessee. He is living in the world of casual drug use pot and beer. He has been arrested twice and it seems that jail visits are in my future. I am a libertarian in the sense that we all have to walk our own path. I think back to my younger days and how many times I could have been getting beans bread and water for supper. I have the gift of empathy and feel the hopelessness of the incarcerated. What does a person do, just show up at the county jail explain to the jailer why you’re there and start talking to someone that doesn’t have a visitor?

  3. concernedfather said

    As a father, I am deeply concerned with the atmosphere that the youth are growing up in.

    I was given the link to a recent local newspaper article about a father who was “contributing to the delinquency of a minor” and it turned out to be my cousin and the minor his 13yr old son. He was giving his son alcohol and cocaine. His son was found with a .22 pistol concealed in his waisteband.

    Is the Church really doing enough? What can we do? How can we reach the youth before they become incarcerated? Who’s to blame?

Leave a Reply

 
