Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

Christians & Comedy

Posted by truthtalklive on August 21, 2007

What place does humor have in the Christian life?  Does comedy have a role in evangelism?

Todays guest: Christian comedian Nick Arnette www.mychurchcomedy.com

Attention North Carolina Listeners, see Nick Live @ 1st Presbyterian Church in Winston-Salem August 24th @ 7pm. Click here for details

10 Responses to “Christians & Comedy”

  1. Hey Stu!

    I had a great time on your radio show today. I wish we had more time.

    You were a great host and the people who called in were the best!

    Blessings on you and your ministry!

    My best,
    Nick Arnette

  2. Jim said

    Hi Nick,
    Can you please tell me how you came to know you could be in comedy as a profession, we all think we are funny and I have made people laugh with my witty sense of humor, but it’s entirely different to get up in front of people who are sitting there and thinking, ” Go ahead and try to make me laugh, I double dog dare ya!” Also how do you come up with material and organize it for your show?
    Thanks,
    Jim

  3. Hi Jim,

    That’s a great question, and I appreciate you asking it.

    I’m pretty shy by nature. I’m an extrovert, but don’t like to be the center of attention or the “life of the party” so to speak.

    I basically developed humor as a way I could relax whenever I stood in front of a group of people. Even in school when I would go up front to do an algebra problem, if I could make the class laugh, I could relax enough to concetrate and finish the problem.

    High school youth group was instrumental in my comedy development because I got to do a lot of really silly skits. They were reallly stupid, but they got a lot of luaghs (probably because they were so lame!).

    Anyway, I think the only way to know if you’re funny enough to be a comedian is to actually get up and do some comedy. I know people who are hilarious off stage, but aren’t funny on stage and vice versa.

    If you’re going to do comedy, be sure to have original material. It takes years to develop good material and when people “borrow” a joke from another comedian, that’s not ok, unless you have their permission.

    Jim, try to find a venue to do five minutes of your material. A christian coffee house would be a great place to start. I wish there were more peole at my shows who would like to come up and do a five minute set before I start.

    Hope that’s helpful.

    Blessings,
    Nick

  4. Alexandria said

    I just have one question – what was with the guests comment re: trading Mexicans for Americans “who don’t want to work”! I’m sorry I didn’t get the joke!

  5. Please don’t get offended. It’s all in fun. By the way, I’m Latino, so this is in no way a slam on Latinos.

    The gyst of the joke is that there are some U.S. citizens who won’t work, are able to work, but still want money for doing nothing.

    People who cross the border illegally come here to work and be productive members of society.

    The joke is that we should have a border exchange program. Exchange those who want to come here and work, with those who are here and don’t want to work.

    Again, it’s a joke, I hope all of you won’t read too much into it.

    Part of comedy is a reminde that we shouldn’t take ourselves too seriously.

    I hope that clears it up for you and I offended in you in any way, please forgive me.

    Blessings,
    Nick

  6. Anthony said

    That is funny! That is what I call a fair workers program

  7. danny rebecca said

    hey nick, really great talking with you yesterday. i’m sorry i didn’t get back to you sooner. i was working last night. i’m a christian, and a stand up comic. but i’m not both together. and i want to be very badly. if you could help point me in the right direction. i can’t tell you what that would mean to me. i don’t want to give up stand up but as you know, working the clubs is hard with all the blue material, and cursing. i just did a big show with lots of big names and i felt out of place. most comics would die to be where i was and i felt i didn’t belong there. God gave me a great gift to make people laugh. i want to use it not lose it. thanks nick and God bless
    danny

  8. Hi Danny,

    Thanks for writing.

    Here’s the web address for the Christian Comedy Association. They just had their yearly convention, but you should join so you can find out when they’re meeting again and be on their list. http://www.christiancomedyassociation.com/

    Getting started in churches is tough because there is a trust factor involved and if they don’t know you, they are relectant to hire you.

    It’s been a problem for me as well. A couple weeks ago I sent out 1,800 postcards to the largest churches in the USA. I got ZERO response, not even a phone call.

    If I were you, I’d try to put a gig together at a local church. Spend a couple bucks to get a good looking tape together and send it out to some of the agencies. Nashville seems to be where the big guys are. Nashville Speakers Bureau and Ambassador Speakers Bureau are tops. They don’t book me, but I tried to get in with them.

    Most of my gigs are booked by Outreach Events. It was hard to get in with then too, but by the grace of God I did. Their site is Outreachevents.com

    I don’t want to discourage you brother. If you feel God leading you out of the clubs and the nightclub environment, I’d go start moving in the other direction. If it’s God’s will, He will show you the way.

    Meanwhile, I think it’s great that you’re a Christian in a very secular environment. I think you indeed can be both a comedian and Christian, and a Christian comedian in the comedy clubs. Maybe you’re the only Christian they’ll be able to identify with.

    My regular email address is MAYQLAF@aol.com if you want to stay in touch.

    I’ll be praying for you my brother!

    Blessings,
    Nick

  9. Danny,

    I just left you a long reply and it’s not here.

    I don’t know what happened.

    Here’s my regular email address. Write me there and I’ll give you some ideas.

    MAYQLAF@aol.com

    Blessings,
    Nick

  10. Danny,

    I see my reply posted, do stay in touch though.

    Blessings,
    Nick

Leave a Reply

 
