Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

Today’s Topic: Evan Almighty?

Posted by truthtalklive on June 22, 2007

It’s the most anticipated comedy of the year. A lot of Christian groups are excited about another “Christian” themed movie but others are calling it blasphemy!

Do you plan to see it?

Has Hollywood gone too far?

Theatrical Trailer 1
Theatrical Trailer 2

12 Responses to “Today’s Topic: Evan Almighty?”

  1. Anonymous said

    Depends on what I hear about the movie after some have gone to see it. I don’t think laughing about something is blasphemy just the whole making God out as a human would be blasphemy wouldn’t it? God the father is a spirit right? I think it’s alright to make something humorous but I wouldn’t know if it is all out blasphemy until I see it. Sometimes just seeing something advertise I get the feeling if it is evil or not like Harry Potter but hey any magic is evil right? Yes Hollywood has gone too far in a lot of movies and has put Christians down a lot to try to make us look weak or ignorant but they will never be able to stop us we just need to start getting more involved and getting back to what God wants from us instead of worrying about the trash Hollywood wants to throw at us!!!

  2. Rick said

    It was made by Hollywood and Hollywood is evil.
    It was made by unbelievers who laughed at Mel Gibson for producing The Passion of the Christ until it made allot of money.
    Two years ago, Hollywood and the Democrats talked about putting God into their scripts.
    They are now doing it for money and power only.
    I will not give my vote or my money to people like that.

  3. Shawn said

    Foe one thing Even Almighty was a great movie with a great message. Second maybe if we Christians stopped telling people about everything we are against we start supporting the things that are good. This movie was a good movie about God meeting the need of a family and a community (isn’t that Christian?)
    Anyway, I will gladly recommend it to all who ask if I saw it and what I thought about it. Nice job Hollywood! Kudos on this one.

    Shawn

  4. Mike Sears said

    I have not seen it. I don’t have a problem with following a Biblical storyline to make a movie. However, I do have a big problem with portraying God the Father as a man (Morgan Freeman). Is that not blasphemy?

  5. Anonymous said

    As believers, we don’t need to watch a religious movie to share the gospel of Christ. I don’t have any desire to watch the movie or just about any other movie. As believers are dependency is the indwelling Spirit of Christ. Christ in every believer is able to share the gospel. If a person gets save by watching this movie, that is God’s divine arrangement. As believers, we should simply live the life of Christ. Such a living will draw the unsaved to Christ. Christ expressed through every believer is the only attraction on the earth. Amen Saints!

  6. Kathy said

    Has everyone forgotten the movies – Oh God and Oh GodII with George Burns and John Denver produced in Hollywood? That was a “controversal” movie – and I enjoyed that movie. I didn’t hear or see all the talk and media with Oh God that I’m hearing about Evan Almighty. I saw Evan Almighty yesterday – and thought it was refreshing. I understood about the “flood” not really being the “FLOOD” – God was having to use extreme means – as He has to sometimes – to work out His plan…in this case to work out His plan to save people, to mend relationships and to bring justice where needed. I like what was said about when we pray for patience – God gives us opportunities for patience, etc. This movie really ministered to me because I am facing several challenges right now and I’ve prayed – daily for God’s help in working out these challenges in my life to His ultimately will. It was good – to see a movie where I could have a good chuckle.

  7. Victor Vermette said

    Stu,
    I would like to address 2 topics at the same time because I believe that they’re both relevent. In reference to whether we should allow our kids to play sports on Sunday and about the movie Evan Almighty. I find it surprising that we say that we revere His Holy Name by being “offended” when we hear people say “Oh my G__!” However when it comes to actual life issues we appear to take a more compromising stand. The Jews would not even say or write the name of God because they believed it was blastphemous; the pen used to write His Name would be burned after writing it so as to keep His Name holy. The name YHWH (Yahwey) was used so they/we could have a name to call Him. He is Holy and He commands that He be treated with reverence and He wants us to be holy like Him. He also commands that we keep His day holy. Gen.2:3, Gen. 31:35, 1 Thess. 4:7, 2 Tim. 1:9, Titus 1:8, 1 Pt. 1:15-16.
    We are a supposed to be a people who are called out from the world 2 Cor. 6:17 from the world, not see how close we can emulate the world and still call ourselves His. There’s supposed to be a radical change in us that draws the lost to Jesus. We compromise our morals and try to lower the bar of God’s Holy standards looking for enough truth in our compromise to say that it’s from God. Satan used the same tactics in the Garden. Gen. 3:6 “When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it.” Satan fed them a lie and allowed them to “reason” that it “looked good and was desirable” He tricked them into compromising. He plays the same game today but packages it in “sophistication.” We believe that we’re smarter than Adam and Eve; we couldn’t be more wrong! We compromise God’s Holy Standards and say that we’re being “all things to all men” so that we can “reach more people with the Gospel” then we wonder why our witness is so ineffective. Paul wasn’t compromising God’s standards when he wrote “To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.” 1 Cor. 9:22-24 Paul was giving up his right to be free from the yoke of the law to win the Jews to Christ, he wasn’t going to extremes or transgressing any of the laws of Christ.
    I don’t have to go to an X-Rated movie to know that it’s bad, I don’t even have to view an R or PG-13 movie to know that it’s bad. If the movie is compromising and making light of God than I know that for me a my house, it’s bad. Joshua 24:15 “But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”
    I want my family to honor the Lord in everything we say and do. I fall short in many areas, but I’ll be a work in progres for the rest of my life. I don’t believe that God has called us to become as close to the world as possible and still say we’re living for Him. He called us to be seperate and holy as He is Holy. Compromise slips in subtly. If the devil parades down our church isle in red, with horns and a pointed tail we would either run away or rebuke him, but he’s an angel of light (2 Cor. 11:14) that shows up in a business suit so we invite him to come and sit next to us, invite him over for dinner, play with our children, and even lead in our worship and Bible studies. If you think this is far fetched take a look at the compromises we allowed in our lives over the years. 2 Timothy 4:3 “For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.”
    God has called us to be a Holy people, set apart for Himself. Ps. 4:3 “Know that the LORD has set apart the godly for himself; the LORD will hear when I call to him.” 1 Pt. 3:14-16 “14But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. “Do not fear what they fear[a]; do not be frightened.”[b] 15But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, 16keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander.” 2 Cor. 5:15 “And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.”
    Let’s live our lives Wholly Holy unto God! In the Love and Service of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, Vic

  8. Brian said

    Stu
    I listened to all the talk about Evan Almighty. Hollywood can be taught, just as we teach our children. This is obvious through the programing we currently view. We have shown a great deal of interest in rated R movies or there wouldn’t be so many of them for us to watch. The trick to making money is find something that works and repeat the process. That’s what Hollywood does, and does very well.
    When you are teaching a child to clean their room, you go in to inspect what they have done and you discover they did everything great, except they didn’t empty the trash basket. You don’t tell them what a horrible job they did for not emptying the trash. You praise them for all they did right and then gently mention the next time you need to empty the trash. As with Evan Almighty, I think we should go see the movie, allow the movie to make money. Once we have seen it and only after we have seen it can we tell Hollywood the room looks great, but next time you need to empty the trash. I think this would encourage Hollywood to make movies that are suitable for the family. If we automatically kill a movie before it has a chance, and a profit is not seen, there is no reason for Hollywood to try to do better. The G movie failed, the R movie made money, we need to make more R movies.

  9. Mike Sears said

    Yay Vic!! Excellent points. Let’s just be sure we’re doing all this for the right God glorifying reason. Because of the love that He shed abroad in our hearts and not because we think we earn a “holy” position, which apart from the works of Christ, is immpossible! May God be glorifed!!

  10. Scott said

    I can’t say that it is sin to watch the movie. I would ask if it is expedient. I’m not sure yet if I am going to watch it. I tend to move a little slower when it comes to figuring out what I am going to do in regard to issues like this. I don’t think “I am going to be able to witness or better understand the worlds view of God” is a valid reason for going. Both of those can be accomplished in many other ways.

    The blasphemy issue is what concerns me. Whether you eat or drink or whatsoever you do, do all to the glory of God. Does it bring glory to God when we promote/support/pay money for the sole purpose of seeing a movie that is potentially blasphemous? What is blasphemy?

    American Heritage Dictionary – Cite This Source blas·phe·my (blās’fə-mē)
    n. pl. blas·phe·mies

    A contemptuous or profane act, utterance, or writing concerning God or a sacred entity.
    The act of claiming for oneself the attributes and rights of God.
    An irreverent or impious act, attitude, or utterance in regard to something considered inviolable or sacrosanct.

    Is this movie blasphemous toward the almighty soverign holy God that died on the cross for our sins and saved us from hell? For me that is the question that should be taken very siriously. Do I shout it down and demand a boycot because it is blasphemous? No, I don’t believe so. But I do believe I need to hold the reputation of my God as near and dear and precious to my heart. The holiness of God and his nature is not something we should wink at when portrayed in an unbiblical light. I dare say we are more concerned and reactive when we are misrepresented, big or small, than we are when God is misrepresented. What is misrepresented in this movie? His nature, His love, His justice, how he communicates to people, his soverignty (at least this is what I remember from the first one) and are we to say that these are small issues?

    I’m not sure the “clean room” example is an apples to apples scenario. We don’t need to rely on Hollywood to portray God in a biblical way and therefore we have no responsiblity to “train” them as we would a child. I highly doubt we will ever “train” Hollywood to do a movie that gives an accurate portayal of God and his nature. I believe there are plenty of family movies out there that we could use to “train” Hollywood if that truely is our desire. Was there any effort to “train” Hollywood after the first one? Or since we went to the first one and made it successful they think it is ok and acceptable to “not take out the trash”? I do find it a little interesting that we would ever call a R rated movie a “family” movie. I guess it depends on what your definition of a family movie and what should be considered as an R rated movie. To me the two don’t really go hand in hand.

    Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honorable, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

  11. all ps2 games

    Really nice site you have here. Ive been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work.

  12. Rabies said

    I was hesitant to see the movie, because I didn’t want to see another movie that mad fun of the Christian faith or that would be insulting to God. Someone in my church actually recommended it. It still took me weeks to watch it.
    After watching it, I was glad I did. The movie was thoughtful. It had a great message, and it represented Christians fairly. He said he believed, but when given the challenge he faltered. Still, God pushed him, and he ended up serving the Lord and others well. In the end, the main character became a better father, man, and Christian for his experience.
    There is a scene where he tells someone they need to repent. That could have been done in a silly way, but instead it was delivered well.
    Are there better movies to show our Christian faith? Yes. Is it ok to have fun and share your faith? Yes. We have a wonderful God. Blessed be his name. We can have fun with our faith, but we can never mock God our our Christian faith. I believe this movie was ok.
    In the end, the movie is making the point that God is in control, and we report to Him.

Leave a Reply

 
