Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com!

Today’s Issues, From a Biblical Perspective!

Today’s Guest: Carey Hardy, Pastor of Twin City Baptist Church in Winston-Salem, NC

Posted by truthtalklive on June 4, 2007

Visit: www.twincitybaptist.org

Should the church offer one-strop shopping for my spiritual and psychological needs?

16 Responses to “Today’s Guest: Carey Hardy, Pastor of Twin City Baptist Church in Winston-Salem, NC”

  1. shawn said

    I undestand where he is coming from on many points. The church should be doing more for counsel — especially because we are bringing in hurting people (I’m not sure there is anyone without needs, work/family/money/belief problems, sin, and other baggage). Even as our spirit is renewed at rebirth, we are exorted to renew our minds. However, our churches overall are surely lacking when it comes to shephards doing these things. AA and Celebrate recovery etc. have done a much better job at at least conveying the message of surrender, acceptance, be emptied of self and be filled with God etc.

    With that said, there is also a brain-body chemistry connection that many do not understand. Hormones (post-partum depression, monthly cycles etc.), sugar (highs and lows) especially as seen in diabetic and hypo/hyper glycemic patients who suddenly “change personalities” or blackout etc. There are too many more to list. Fever can cause significant personality/mental changes to the point of hallucinations etc.

    These conditions are not unlike many other conditions, diseases etc. that seem to impact only the body. If someone can be born with insulin dependency and other chemical deficiencies/imbalances, it surely could be possible for people to be lacking chemicals/hormones etc. in their system.

    Moreover, how does one explain those who have had a stroke, a brain stem injury who change personalities and have mental disabilities?
    To chose whether something is organic or inorganic can be dangerous when the church in general is ill-equipped (currently) to deal with many of these issues. It seems to me the church has lost many of it’s orginal purposes to give hope to the hurting, heal people, proclaim the good news of redemption, and disciple/feed (spiritually) the flock while “remembering the poor …widows and orphans” and those in need/heavy burdened.

    Thank God, that he is not limited by only church buildings and continues to use parachurch organizations, nonprofits, and even just small groups/individuals to do his will.

  2. Deb from PA said

    This is to expound what I said on air at the close of today’s show (6/4/07). Stu, thank you for continuing the conversation off air. Your show is a blessing. I write in support of Pastor Hardy’s approach. The body of Christ should meet the needs of it’s members, when the church functions properly according to the Word of God.

    I am familiar with grief. I was ill & almost died in May 2003, with a long recovery. From July 2004 until May 2006 I cared for both my parents as each was terminally ill & died, making life & death decisions & dealing w/1 crisis after another. I worked full time & cared for 3 small children. Christmas of 2006 I had a miscarriage. My doctor labelled me “depressed” as I was minimally functional 18 months (half way into) what felt like a Job-like experience.

    I am part of a church body, a born again Christian, in the Word & our family prays every day. My relationship w/God never waivered, I was faithful to Him even as my vessel was tossed & battered through the storm. Like everyone else, I was created by God with a physical, emotional, psychological AND spiritual component.

    There is no way to know if a disease/medical condition or even circumstances change something in the brain. So I tried several medications. Some ‘hyped’ me up, some made me sleepy, some had physical side effects. None helped the despair, lethargy, fatigue, helplessness, wallowing sorrow I felt. In my case physical mental health issues/treatment were not the answer & through 15 years in ministry to youth, my humble opinion is far too many are addressed in a medical way.

    Our church (Freedom Valley Worship Center) has members from all walks of life. We’ve hired them as plumbers, realtors & other professionals. Our church also has trained counselors, MSW (masters in social work), etc who are skilled and volunteer under our Care Pastor to minister to the psycological, emotional AND spiritual aspects which God made. Most of the time, this encompasses the total need. Infrequently, this is in conjuction w/medical care of one’s doctor to also care for a physical condition.

    To treat the only a portion of our beings is ineffective, such as merely throwing a scripture verse or a pill at someone & calling it done.

    And to my chagrin, even more are addressed medically ONLY, to the neglect of the emotional & psychological. And sadly said, even within the body of Christ, rarely is the spiritual addressed as we seek counseling outside the body of Christ. God gives us gifts of the Holy Spirit such as of wisdom & words of knowledge which are powerful in counseling. And even more under-utilized, I dare to say, is discernment of spirits & spiritual warfare.

    After 4 months of Chrstian counseling, my focus was realigned. I was helped to see God moving through the situations, including what He’d already done. She helped me to see my self & the situation through God’s eyes. Through weekly counseling, ‘homework’ assignments of researching God’s word & prayer it felt like a great awakening. Starting by getting through minutes, then hours, then days… I was uplifted, encouraged, stregthened, comforted & renewed in my complete being.

    The trials continued for another 18 months. Here on the other side I see how God was faithful, orchestrated all things for His glory, matured me & prepared me for the ministry He has given me the priviledge to now serve/lead.

    PS – In our missions trip to serve those impacted by hurricance Katrina we helped many. At one home a Baptist was fixing a roof, a Presbyterian was cleaning out debris & we were bringing supplies. We asked the gentleman if FEMA had been out to his area. He said no, but who needs FEMA, we have you! Isn’t that what the body of Christ is about?

  3. Anonymous said

    The sufficiency of Scripture is a complex topic which this blog space seems insufficient to address. If, for some, psychology (alcohol, work, religiosity) provides a means to avoid the conviction by and/or obedience to Scripture, does that necessarily imply that psychology (medication, training, etc.) might not be a means of grace…or is it beyond the sovereignty of God? Boldness calls us to hold to God’s Word as our first and final Truth (hence our conscientious spiritual discipline); humility calls us to shun simplistic judgments about His Word or about the worldly remedies He uses to carry out His Word. Well did our Reformed fathers look beyond superstition and spiritualized interpretation of of others’ Fall and rather see in disease and disturbances a general Fall, and saw in therapies the multiple compassions of a gracious God. If they had used the same hermeneutic regarding medicine (learning, sanitation, etc.) that the speaker applies to psychology, we would not be having this discussion.
    From another angle, I too have an ADHD child (adopted to provide alternatives to abortion) and attend a Bible-believing church where pastors (without knowing my child) consistently recommended prayer and Bible reading and/or reprimanded me for poor parenting, including considering medication (fortunately, their parishioners were more gracious). After a BEHAVIORAL assessment from a Christian psychiatrist and minimal medication, his impulsiveness (and others’ negative reactions) declined, achievement and self-esteem improved, and his spirit of gentleness and service is even more apparent. As a teen believer, he definitely needs constant prayer and bathing in the Scripture (who doesn’t). But God’s Word to our family is that He uses many means consistent with His Redeeming Nature to strengthen and equip His people to fulfill His purposes.

  4. Well, it would seem that Pastor Carey Hardy could do a little research…before the attempt at so much enlightenment! FOR SURE: there are many people praying for a greater insight to the DRUG~induced madness and addictions (very difficult withdrawal from mind-altering SSRI Rx materials!!!) as the drug-sales {70% sponsored by corrupt politics} in BILLIONS are a feature of MEDICAID & MEDICARE as the money~engine of corrupt government pumps the SALES for Big Pharma….sponsoring the subterfuge of addiction… for having SALES!!!
    Let Pastor Hardy read the stories posted with “EXPERIENCES” on and do some real research before talking about a path that is more signposts than remedies. Let him use and enter “Big Pharma + Evelyn Pringle” to see a few hundred pages. Let him stay up late at night and hear the COAST-To-COAST A.M. radio show about the drugs when Ann Blake Tracy and Candace Pert and others are reporting. See the UPCOMING subject materials and stations {in N.C.} with daytime checking on . Read PROZAC: Panacea or Pandora!
    I have worked at over a dozen chemical plants and in both Carolinas … so I would be pleased to talk about some remedies that are overlooked by the psychiatrists who have even kickbacks for peddling [writing] prescriptions. The consensus among the people whom I admire would point to the Columbine H.S. shootings and the more recent slaughter at Virginia tech’ as direct results of the psychiatristrists writing prescriptions for dangerous drugs ~~~produced by Big Pharma.
    If I can call you from 9:10 to midnight Eastern time; I would be pleased to outline some methods and means that are available with therapies and appliances that are NOT part of the profit~means for M.D.s and the INSURANCE business which are almost a Gag-order on really effective treatment of many of the neurological problems. So who wants to have a dialogue and some more profound theory? There is available help.
    Contractor Jim
    330-418-6449

  5. Richard said

    The truth of the sufficiency of Scripture in dealing with matters of the heart/mind is not as radical and new as some might think. The church that I attend in Greer, SC trains many pastors and lay people in Biblical Counseling; which has the sufficiency of Scripture as its cornerstone. There are many people that have been trained and they receive Biblical Counseling certifications recognized by the Southern Baptist Association of Biblical Counselors (SBABC), International Association of Biblical Counselors (IABC), and NANC. The truth of the sufficiency of Scripture in matters of the heart/mind and life and godliness is being realized in other areas as well. The Southern Baptist Seminary has done away with teaching Christian Psychology all together and has replaced it with Biblical Counseling.

  6. allison mack nude

    Hello!

  7. bare feet said

    bare feet

    Hello!

  8. naisioxerloro said

    Hi.
    Good design, who make it?

  9. Teenager Depression…

    […]Today’s Guest: Carey Hardy, Pastor of Twin City Baptist Church in Winston-Salem, NC « Welcome to TruthTalkLive.com![…]…

  10. It’s an amazing piece of writing for all the internet viewers; they will get advantage from it I am sure.

  11. Trey said

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be interesting to read content from other authors and practice a little something from their sites.

  12. Matthew said

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Here is my blog post web page ( Matthew – http://elitizota.wordpress.com/2014/08/10/how-to-look-for-a-personal-injury-attorney/ )

  13. Laurie said

    Awesome website you have here but I was wanting to
    know if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable individuals
    that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please
    let me know. Appreciate it!

  14. Natasha said

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a
    blog that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I found this in my search for something relating to this.

  15. Janice said

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to
    check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic site!

  16. Jeffrey said

    Thank you, I have just been searching for information about this subject for ages and
    yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far. But, what concerning the bottom
    line? Are you sure concerning the source?

Leave a Reply

 
